Comic-Con 2013

1076986_10153074140090556_790308219_o

So I managed to obtain tickets to the Valhalla of the nerds, San Diego Comic-Con!  My hero’s journey went a little like this:

First round of ticket buying went past, didn’t try particularly hard, obviously didn’t get tickets because everyone else was basically executing perfect purchasing plans they had created months in advance.

Round Two: Comic-con allows people who have registered (but not purchased tickets) to enter their names in a drawing to purchase the tickets that had been returned.  My name is not chosen.

Round Three: I am randomly derping on facebook, when my friend (a girl I have never met in person but who also cosplays) shares a link to purchase Thursday or Sunday tickets for comic-con.  I desperately call Seana, and we both purchase Sunday tickets.  Too late my father asks if it’s a scam.  I look on the official website, no mention of this resale.  I check the twitter, no mention.  I check the Comic-Con facebook page where the girl shared it from, there is the link.  Apparently only pure luck let me find this deal.  I AM THE CHOSEN ONE.

A month later I drive down to San Diego to stay Saturday night at Seana’s house, where I am treated to my own bed in their backyard studio apartment.  We play animal crossing and surf the web and get frozen yogurt, all necessary to prep our minds for the next day.  At around midnight we rest our weary heads, and I wake up bright and early Sunday morning to clad myself in my battle suit, aka my Velma cosplay.

970787_10152034466254338_586102954_n

The Lovely Seana

Before we even get to the con, the attention starts (which I would like to make clear I’m not complaining about, I love how many people know Velma and how many of them go ‘YOU ARE MY CHILDHOOD’.  I love both being Velma, and seeing the smiles when people recognize me as Velma).  We purchase our tickets for the train into downtown San Diego, and the lady in the ticket window stops me to take a photo.  We step onto the train (which I nearly fall off of because apparently I don’t know how to ride public transit in heels), and I find myself catching a teenage boy very quickly putting his camera away (here’s a hint: if I’m wearing a costume, if you ask, I’ll probably let you take a photo).  On the train a man with asbergers starts up questioning me about my life.  I can’t hear half of his statements, but I just keep smiling and nodding, enjoying what little I can.  The conversation comes to a temporary halt when the man says, ‘Oh, I’ve been obsessed with Velma since I was 8 years old!’ I smile slightly awkwardly and nod, adjusting my glasses and looking away.

‘Maybe that’s not quite appropriate to say…’ another man on the train states.

‘Ah, she just knows I’m messing around, I’m just an old guy.’ the first man replies.  We continue our conversation without issue, but I will take a moment to point out I really don’t mind if you are in love with my character, but please be aware that if you are a stranger, as safe as you may be, and as harmless as you meant it, it will still make me uncomfortable, especially if you use words such as ‘obsessed’.  Velma may be one of the most modestly dressed characters I could possibly cosplay, but the fact she is so overly sexualized (usually by older men) actually sometimes makes me question if I want to continue wearing her, even though the reasons I love her is that she is a strong female character who is portrayed as being the voice of reason and extremely intelligent, a good role model even when I was young.  You have the right to say what you want, but because I’ve been taught from a young age that certain outfits are ‘asking for it’, please be aware of why I feel mildly threatened if you tell me you are obsessed with me, especially when you have a 12 inches and 150 lbs on my 5’2″ frame.

DSC_1035

Catbug!

Back to the fun part (aka the con), while Seana and I were walking to registration, a Steam Powered Giraffe cosplayer walked by.

Seana (staring openly): Is that…?

Me (also staring rudely): Nooo, it’s got to be a cosplayer…

The Spine ( as he passes us with his liquid gold voice): No, it’s me.

Us: ( ゚ Д゚) (゜◇゜)

I’m pretty sure he found our shock amusing, and apparently had many other fans believe him to be a cosplayer.  From his tumblr:

I swear I tried to be straight with people about me being the REAL David Michael Bennett who plays the actual The Spine in Steam Powered Giraffe…but some people still just thought I was a cosplayer, even after I said things like, “Yeah the show was great! It was fun up on stage” or “Well I should have the mannerisms down, since I am The Spine”.
ANYWHO…

So at least we weren’t the only ones being dorks.  (we also ran into him right down the escalator after arguing the entire time in line if we would ever see him again).

1078610_10153074108585556_498307798_o

The Spine from Steam Powered Giraffe

Steven met up with us, and we derped in the dealer’s hall, explored artists alley, and then went to go get Andrew Hussie’s (creator of Homestuck) autograph.  Seana and I left him there and went to get food, and when we returned, it turned out you needed a ticket to get an autography and I didn’t have one.  Luckily when I brought Steven’s food to him, a random girl goes ‘Oh, you need an autograph ticket?  I have an extra!’  so I bought a pyralspite plush and a poster, and got in line.

1047918_10153074105230556_670655362_o

In line I met a Catbug cosplayer holding the same Catbug plushie I had just purchased, and we dorked out a bit before a third guy walked up and asked for a photo of her.

Me: Yeah, I just bought this Catbug plushie online, it was the best choice I’ve made this summer.
Her: Yeah, I love my Catbug plushie too, Catbug is the best!
Random Guy walks up: Hey, you’re Catbug, right? Can I get a photo with you?
Her: Sure! *takes photo with him* So you like Catbug?
Random Guy (nonchalantly): Oh, I created him.
Commence fangirling by me and Catbug cosplayer over Random Guy who turns out to be BREEHN BURNS (producer/writer of Bravest Warriors)

DSC_1039

And that’s why I love Comic-Con, you have random famous people wandering around EVERYWHERE.

I also visited the My Little Pony booth, took photos of cosplayers, got photos taken of me, visited my sister who was judging the Magic the Gathering tournament, the standard con routine.  I’d say the things that make Comic-Con is its sheer size, the fact that it draws so many famous people, ranging from writers to artists to actors, and you can never really see everything.  Crossing my fingers for 4 day tickets for next year.

PHOTODUMP

DSC_1024

Gravity Falls

DSC_1027

Vinyl Scratch

1003327_10153074148270556_1226453525_n

Sonic

About A Lewis

Please check out @alicenlewis

Posted on July 29, 2013, in Conventions, Cosplay, Daily Adventures, Geek and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a Reply

