TechSparks

7646c5c8298075a2-PasadenaInternship

This Thursday evening I attended TechSparks, a monthly mixer for Tech Professionals in the Pasadena area.  Their focus is on the Social Spark Theory, which says that ‘when driven, smart people play games and socialize, they will spark big ideas that change the world’.  This particular event was for Pasadena interns to network with local professionals, and I got the chance to meet a bunch of cool people.

The venue was at Barney’s Beanery, a hip little bar with a nice upstairs area with a second bar, tables, and pool tables.  Interns were handed raffle tickets at the door that they could give to professionals who talked to them, so I found myself very quickly being included in conversations and asked about my own experiences.  I met a Pomona alum, a psychologist interested in researching usability, and many other IT people.  It was a great chance to hear about what was happening in the tech industry, as well as many offshoots and tangents to traditional tech businesses.

Unfortunately I am a bit young to be attending any more of these events, but I’m contacting them in the hopes of being able to volunteer or help out.  Currently Pasadena is in the middle of a tech revolution, spearheaded by the Innovate Pasadena movement.  I want to be at the top of the wave, hopefully getting my hands dirty while the movement is just budding, helping to make my hometown a hub of innovation and technology.  Wish me luck!

About Alicen Lewis

Find me on BaiRabbit.wordpress.com! Archived Blog: Previously a summer intern for the startup incubator Idealab, during the school year I am also on the board of the Scripps College Professionals Network, Team Leader and Head Web Designer for Scripps College IT for Faculty, and President of Scripps Women in Technology. My previous experience includes working Digital New Media with Geek & Sundry, a Los Angeles Commercial YouTube company.

Posted on July 18, 2013, in Daily Adventures, Growing Up and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

