THATcamp Feminisms Day 1

Well, I feel I need to at least churn something out regarding my first day at THATcamp Feminisms, which I previously mentioned I was going to here.  For those who need a refresher, it’s an unconference about Digital Humanities and Technology (this one has a focus on feminism) where we create the panels and discuss.

Day 1 started at the Honnold Library (in the room that may someday house the Digital Humanities section of the library) with a wiki edit-a-thon that I was forced to miss because of work,  Luckily I arrived just in time for lunch, which was provided by Soho Taco (it was brilliant).  I managed to meet a ton of new people, including a fellow Scrippsie (Bea Schuster) who had apparently interned with Geek and Sundry (who Felicia Day works with), and she agreed to an interview later regarding that internship (She is my new favorite person~).  It was majority professors, grad students, and those involved in the academic world, I was surprised at the lack of students.  Many seemed to already know each other, and I’m glad I got the chance to discuss with a demographic I don’t interact with often.

SWAG

The first panel I attended was regarding Femtechnet and Feminist Digital Pedagogy.  What this essentially amounted to (at least from my perception) was incorporating technology in teaching (twitter, blogging, youtube), and how this applies to feminist ideals (can we really force students to post on vitriolic spaces such as youtube when we usually encourage growth in educational environments of support).  Other interesting questions were how your posts follow you, and how it affects your online presence.  Do you want the world to see your maturation in terms of thoughts?  Will an immature thought someday be taken out of context and used against you, even if you don’t believe it anymore? (future blog coming with more of my musings about that)

The second part of the discussion centered around Fembot Collective, a network of scholars, students and artists working to build the first Massively Distributed Collaborative Learning Experiment.  This is very different from a Massively Open Online Course for many reasons, one of which is that the point of a MDCLE is not exposure and reaching/educating as many people as possible, but rather to use the tools of the internet to collaborate for learning, whether it be in large or small groups.

MORE SWAG

The second panel was Advanced Digital Humanities, which completely flew over my head.  My notes include ‘I don’t understand all this ‘feminist as an identity’/’examining things as a feminist’/’feminist processes’.  One of the professors said ‘only feminists talk in circles’  I don’t have the vocabulary to understand half of this.  Mapping.  Word Clouds.  Digital Humanities.  DH in the academy?  Wtf is the academy?’  I just wish I had taken an Intro to Gender and Women’s Studies course before this THATcamp, I feel as though everyone is talking from an educational foundation I haven’t experienced.  I’m still growing and learning from this experience, but I don’t think I’m understanding fully any of it.  STILL WORTH IT.

Cheese

Cheeeese

Finally we ended up in the Margaret Fowler Garden with NEVERENDING CHEESE FROM THE CHEESECAVE.  Discussion ranged from fanfiction to babies to finding jobs as an academic.  The whole day was overwhelming but thrilling, and it’s fascinating to see what academic life outside college is like.

About Alicen Lewis

Find me on BaiRabbit.wordpress.com! Archived Blog: Previously a summer intern for the startup incubator Idealab, during the school year I am also on the board of the Scripps College Professionals Network, Team Leader and Head Web Designer for Scripps College IT for Faculty, and President of Scripps Women in Technology. My previous experience includes working Digital New Media with Geek & Sundry, a Los Angeles Commercial YouTube company.

Posted on March 15, 2013, in Claremont, Daily Adventures, Gender/Sexuality, Growing Up, Opinion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Glad you were able to make it, Alicen. I’d second the impulse to take a GWS course – not to understand that conversation, but to be a part of an even larger one!

  1. Pingback: A short follow up to THATCamp Feminisms | Jacqueline Wernimont

  2. Pingback: Throwback Thursday! (wait, what) | Geek it Out

  3. Pingback: Notes from THATCamp Feminisms West #tcfw - Open Objects

Leave a Reply

