Damsel in Distress

 

Okay, I unfortunately didn’t make this clear in the first place, but this video is not in fact me.  I reblogged this because I thought it was brilliant, but I unfortunately did not create it.  Credit goes to the youtube creator.

Posted on March 8, 2013, in ReBlog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. As a gamer this is something that has turned me off to video games in general. I find my refuge in LARPs and tabletop RPGs much more often, in part because the players and ST (or GM) get to set the terms of the game’s world and not some video game programmer who may use stereotypes in an attempt at mass appeal due to lack of personal knowledge of the players. I do still find some video games enjoyable (was that a shot of Elaine Marley that I saw there at the end?), but I’m disturbed by many of the biased images and themes that seem to permeate the medium, even when they do manage to find ways to demonstrate more liberating perspectives.

    I don’t know if you’re planning on addressing this in Part 2, but as an intellectual and a gender activist I’m interested in knowing why you think such patriarchal tropes continue to be so deeply entrenched and what can be done to move society as a whole to uproot those attitudes. Do you believe change is possible, and if so how can it be brought about?

    • I apologize, I should have made this clear that this is a reblog and not actually my own property. The video belongs to the youtube user who created it, who unfortunately is not me as much as I love her work. I’ll be sure to make clear what is my own intellectual property in the future.

      On another note, I would like to say that your comment was fascinating and I loved hearing your perspective, even if you thought you were directly addressing the creator of the video. I highly recommend commenting directly on the youtube video, your opinion is very interesting.

      My own opinion (which I have not reflected on at length, and thus is likely to change) is that the tropes continue to be so deeply entrenched because the videogame industry is exactly what it sounds like, an industry, which means it does what it needs to in order to increase revenue. All the tropes cater to a certain audience which has been proven to be loyal, and it’s easier to stick to the standard recipe and guarantee at least mild success then try to break the structure by introducing new, radical or not, ideas that could easily fail. As an industry, I think videogame companies would need to be willing to accept failure more often to fight sexism because trial and error is necessary in order to create new games that eschew the standard tropes and formula. As a society I think we need to be more supportive of feminist games in order to show there is in fact just as loyal a market for it as for the sexist ones. I believe change to be possible, but not necessarily quick or easy.

Leave a Reply

