007

Skyfall.  Awesome movie, but the feminist in me was somewhat irked by it.  At first I was like, well, it’s Bond, what do you expect, it’s a hallmark of the franchise, and then I wondered why I was supporting a franchise that made one of its pillars the objectification and disposable nature of women.  More on this to come when finals aren’t crushing me.

Edit: This seems like it’s actually going to be a I rewatch all the Daniel Craig movies and determine whether the newest one was especially awful.  More to come someday.

Posted on December 9, 2012, in Gender/Sexuality, Growing Up. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Oh, I’m looking forward to reading your thoughts on the franchise! I actually haven’t seen a single Bond movie, partly because of some clips of women in the movies, that I’ve seen (they don’t exactly make one go “Wow, that seems like a festive film! It won’t make me disgusted at all!”).

    • Ahaha, I’m looking forward to writing it, once I actually get around to watching the movies. It’s one of those things where I dearly want to do it for research and so I can form an informed opinion, but I just can’t seem to make myself go through with it. Maybe during spring break 🙂

Leave a Reply

